KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 5 October 2012.

PRESENT: Ms S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

11. Election of Chairman

(Item)

(1) Mrs V J Dagger moved, seconded by Mr D S Daley that Mr R Tolputt be elected Chairman for the meeting.

Carried Unanimously

(2) Mr R Tolputt thereupon took the Chair.

12. Minutes- 29 June 2012 (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 29 June 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

13. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel decided not to appoint Mr N Wootton to the Governing Body of Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys. It asked the School Governance Officer to offer Mr Wootton the opportunity to represent the Authority on another suitable Governing Body instead.
- (2) The Panel agreed to re-appoint both Mrs T Ball and Miss A Ball to the Governing Body of The Manor Community Primary School as their appointments had initially been made on the recommendation of the Area Education Officer. Since then, both of them had performed effectively and had an excellent attendance record.
- (3) The School Governance Officer asked the Panel to consider a late nomination of Miss L Robinson to the Governing Body of South Borough School. He explained that the number of Governors at that School had reduced and there was an urgent need to fill the vacancies. The Panel agreed to the appointment of Miss Robinson.
- (4) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.